Introducing… the Spin Pin!

25 Mar

Did you know that the average women spends 20 minutes a day styling her hair? Here’s a tip for shortening your hair styling time: buy Goody’s Spin Pin!

Spin Pin updo!

I credit my hair stylist, Mary, to introducing me to the cleverly named Spin Pin. I have layered hair that is pretty darn thick, so Mary knows I’m always on the hunt for time-saving styling tools.

I like the simplicity of a bun or chignon, but the traditional method of twisting my ponytail into the shape of a delicious cinnamon bun and securing with an elastic and bobby pins has never worked for me. The bun immediately starts to droop and pieces of my layers stick out in every direction. Bleh.

Goody Spin PinLuckily, Goody has solved this problem with their Spin Pins, nicely priced at $6. The box explains how to use the pins in 3 simple steps: gather your hair at the nape of your neck, twist into a tight bun, spin one pin from the top and the other up from the base. Viola! No ponytail holders or bobby pins necessary.

The pins are surprisingly sturdy and do a great job of really grabbing a hold of the entire bun. Sure, some layers still stick out a bit, but the Spin Pins keeps the bun tightly in place. My recommendation is to do this style with day-old hair and use some hairspray before and after you twist in the pins. And don’t fuss! It’s supposed to look a little undone.

Has anyone else tried the Spin Pin? I bought mine at CVS and it looks like Target, Walmart, and Walgreens carry them, too. The pins come in blonde and brunette.

Here’s a great video tutorial on how to use the Spin Pins from one of my favorite YouTube hair gurus (she’s got a great broadcaster voice, doesn’t she?):

12 Responses to “Introducing… the Spin Pin!”

  1. Megan Sheehan March 25, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    I’ve been dying to try these pins, Maddy, but wasn’t sure they worked. Thanks! I’m off to get some. :-)

    • Style Me Thrifty March 26, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

      Let me know how you like them, Megan! I was skeptical at first, too, but I’m a total fan now!

  2. Marie March 25, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    I’m all thumbs when it comes to anything at the back of my head. This really works? With your recommendation and $6, I think I’ll give it a try!

    • Style Me Thrifty March 26, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

      Here’s a tip: place the bun slightly to one side, right behind your ear. You can see it better in the mirror and it looks cute. A win-win :)

  3. Jess March 27, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Maddy – what a great idea! I’m totally getting this spin pin. Your blog looks great – keep those awesome fashion tips coming for us underpaid wannabe fashionistas :)

  4. McAlezia April 7, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Of course she has a great broadcaster voice, she is a well know news anchor for ABC’s Channel 3 in Illinois!!!!! Duh!

    • Style Me Thrifty April 7, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      Touché! So she has great hair AND a great job!? Jealous.

  5. Emily July 21, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    Maddy, I saw these in Target today and I remembered your post. I wore them to dinner tonight and felt totally stylish after spending the day at the pool! Thanks for the tip – your blog.

    • Style Me Thrifty July 21, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

      Aww, that’s awesome, Emily! I tell ya — the pool, dinner, and Spin Pins. That is my perfect day!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dare to Re-wear « Style Me Thrifty - May 19, 2011

    […] the same dress last weekend. Why not change up your hair and accessories? It’s amazing how a loose chignon and a chunky necklace can change the overall tone of an […]

  2. The Best Drug Store Beauty Products « Style Me Thrifty - June 21, 2011

    […] Goody Spin Pin – $6.29 I’ve been raving (and blogging!) about Goody’s Spin Pin for months now. Have […]

  3. Happy Half Birthday to Style Me Thrifty! « Style Me Thrifty - September 1, 2011

    […] Introducing… the Spin Pin! – I should have bought stock in Goody’s Spin Pin. This product is awesome and you girls clearly thought so, too, making this my #1 most visited post! Since writing this, I’ve discovered Mini Spin Pins, so be sure to check those out if you have finer hair. […]

Leave a comment