Savvy Traveler: What to Wear for Airline Travel

14 Apr

What to wear when flyingIn my mom’s generation, ladies used to get dressed up for airline travel. Pantyhose, suits, girdles, hat and gloves, pearls, lipstick. Can you imagine?

Luckily, today’s modern woman no longer has to worry about these silly traditions. But does that mean we should abandon all fashion sense in favor of comfort and wear sweatpants when traveling? Heck no!

I believe that if you look good, you’ll feel good, and good things happen to stylish people. In fact, I was reading a travel magazine recently and it said that well-dressed travelers are more likely to be upgraded or have your problem solved.

So the next time you’re taking a flight, check out Style Me Thrifty’s savvy traveler tips for airline travel:

1) Layer, Layer, and Layer Some More
I left chilly DC on Monday for a work retreat and arrived a few hours later in blazing hot Orlando, FL. It’s tricky to know which temperature to dress for when you’re going from one extreme to another, so my advice is simple: dress in layers. My go-to travel companions are a cardigan and scarf. Both will keep you warm on the plane but also easily fold up into your purse when the temp starts to rise. Ann Taylor Loft has some great cardis (and they’re offering 40% your entire purchase right now!).

Cardigans from Ann Taylor Loft ($49 - $54)2) Sock It To Me
I believe in wearing socks when traveling for two specific reasons. First, standing barefoot at security checkpoint gives me the uggies. Secondly, I wear socks to avoid the inevitable “cold feet syndrome” when on a flight. I hate nothing more than when A.C. blasts out of the floorboards and turns my toes into icicles. I realize socks and some travel destinations seem like a strange pairing (e.g. coming home from the beach), so if you insist on wearing sandals, pack a pair of socks in your carry on to slip on your feet when in-flight. Your toesies will thank me.

3) It’s Time for a Watch
Your time is valuable. Keep an eye on it by wearing a watch when you travel. One of the first things the flight attendants ask passengers to do before takeoff is to turn off electronic devices. If you’re an anxious flyer, how are you going to know what time it is? Plus, there are so many cute, affordable watches out there, this tip gives you an excuse to go shopping.

4) Pick the Perfect Carry OnRoxy 'Running Mate' Satchel from Nordstrom for $44
Confession: I own a lot of bags. I usually purchase bags and purses because they’re either (a) cute or (b) affordable. But have you ever bought a bag because it’s comfortable?? Yeah, me either! Traveling requires hauling heavy things, and so, a comfy bag is essential. I recommend picking a bag that is lightweight, durable, and has soft straps. And choose a bag with everyone’s fav feature: pockets! That way you’re not wasting time digging around for your ticket, ear buds, party mix, whatever.

5) Wear Your Hair Down, Rapunzel
Ponytails and airplane seat headrests don’t mix. I hate not being able to put my head back on a flight because my ponytail is jabbing me in the back of the head. Avoid this problem by wearing your hair down. Plus, you’ll have pretty blown out hair for the first day (or two!) of your trip.

Have a safe flight!

5 Responses to “Savvy Traveler: What to Wear for Airline Travel”

  1. Jane April 14, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    This was so helpful! I’m ready to book a flight to anywhere right now just so I can try these tips out :)

  2. Mindy April 14, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Your mother never wore a girdle!

    • Margaret April 17, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

      Oh yes I did! And I hated every uncomfortable minute.

  3. Diane April 14, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    You’re right about the bag. I once bought a bag online and failed to note its weight. When it arrived I saw that the bag itself weighed a ton! Empty! Not helpful at all.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Perfect Pair of Flats « Style Me Thrifty - April 19, 2011

    […] there are occasions when flats are a better choice: lunch with your parents, Sunday afternoons, traveling, commuting to work, actual work… you get the […]

Leave a comment