End of the Season Shopping

22 Aug

Style Me Thifty - summertime. Photo © Passigatti

To buy or not to buy. That is the question.

This weekend I hit up Macy’s in search of a slip to wear to my friend, Meg’s, wedding (so practical)… and somehow ended up in the shoe department with four boxes of heels laid out in front of me. Ummm, how did I get here?!

Easy: the sales!

It’s August and retailers are starting to markdown their summer styles to make room for cold-weather outfits. I always get excited when I start seeing cozy sweaters and soft leather boots on the shelves – until I snap out of it and remember it’s still tank top weather here in DC!

Am I ready to start buying fall outfits, knowing that I won’t wear them for at least another month? OR should I hold off on fall fashion and spend my money on the summer sales even though I’ll only wear this stuff a few times? What’s a girl to do during the month of August?!

So I’m kicking the question to you guys, my smart readers [who are full of opinions!]. Your votes will influence whether I buy this pair of summery leopard wedges by Chinese Laundry.

Chinese Laundry Dazzle Me Wedges - Style Me Thrifty

The print is bold (super bold, I know!) but how chic would these wedges look with khaki capris and a red top? Annnd they’re on sale for $55! It’s time to poll the audience…

6 Responses to “End of the Season Shopping”

  1. Judy August 23, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    A compromise is to buy classic summer items on sale — they will be wearable for a long time — and then buy less expensive trendy items during season; they won’t make it to the next year anyway and don’t need to be top quality.

    • Style Me Thrifty August 24, 2011 at 9:19 am #

      Good point, Judy! And I have a feeling these leopard print wedges don’t fall into the “classic summer item” category ;-)

  2. helen August 24, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    The end of season sales are the best way of bagging the bargains, but it is important to get in there early in order to get the best stuff, all of the really cheap stuff at the end of the sales are not very good really.

    • Style Me Thrifty August 24, 2011 at 9:21 am #

      I agree, Helen. I hate clearance racks that are all picked over!

  3. sara September 12, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    I have found that many shops put out the same old stock year after year on their clearance racks, most of the stuff is not a bargain, just a load of stuff that the shop is trying to clear out of their warehouse. If you have something in particular you want in the sale, then it is worth going, but a bargain is not always what it seems in the sales.

  4. julia September 14, 2011 at 6:44 am #

    I love end of season sales, you can get so much for your money and as long as you are picky you can end up with some great clothes, which you can either keep or sell on.

Leave a comment