The Best Drug Store Beauty Products

21 Jun

drug store aisle

CVS. Walgreens. Target. These are my happy places. I love the endless aisles of affordable makeup, rows of lotions, potions, and cheap hair products!

Every once in awhile on my lunch break, I wander into CVS and pick up a new beauty product to try. It’s amazing what a fresh bottle of nail polish or tube lipstick can do to brighten up the day. And with such low prices, you never have to feel guilty if that new lipstick is not a perfect match! Life is one big experiment anyway.

The next time you’re having a blah day, why not hit up your local drug store for a thrifty treat? Here are a few of Style Me Thrifty’s go-to drug stores beauty products, in no particular order.

Favorite drug store beauty products

1) St. Ives Whipped Silk Lotion – $6.75
The light scent of this lotion makes it great for daily use (it doesn’t interfere with your perfume!). It delivers just as much moisture as a pricier brand and soaks into your skin nicely, with no greasy feeling afterwards.

2) Sonia Kashuk Double Duty Brush Set – $21.99 for 8 brushes
Sephora tried to sell me a $40 powder brush once. You know what I did? Marched my thrifty butt to Target and bought 8 brushes for $22. Winning!

3) Oil Absorbing Sheets – CVS brand for $4.79
I don’t sweat, I “glisten” (ha). For those particularly shinny days, I use these sheets to soak up a the shine from my face without ruining my makeup. Great to have on hand at a wedding. Clean & Clear sells these sheets, too, but I find CVS brand works just as well.

4) Goody Spin Pin – $6.29
I’ve been raving (and blogging!) about Goody’s Spin Pin for months now. Have you picked this clever product up yet?  With a few quick twists, these sturdy pins deliver a cute, secure bun. Goody now makes Mini Spin Pins for thinner hair. Love that!

5) Burt’s Beeswax Lip Balm – $2.99
I cannot leave the house without a tube of chaptstick in my purse. God forbid! Burts Bees is my fav. The tingly mint feeling is refreshing and I like the feel of it on my lips: smooth, light, and moisturizing.

6) Goody Ouchless Ponytail Holders – $3.99
In the past, I used to wear 2 elastics to my Body Combat class just to keep my mane in place and out of my eyes. Then I bought these hair elastics and I’m consistently surprised how 3 twists around my pony leads to such a secure ‘do. A must have for gym goers.

7) Maybelline Great Lash Mascara – $4.02
I see this mascara on so many best seller lists and it’s for a good reason — not only is the mascara insanely affordable, it gives amazing coverage, doesn’t clump, and the small wand is perfect for the hard-to-reach lashes.

8) Nivea Gradual Tan Moisturizer – $9.99
Best tinted moisturizer out there. It’s very easy to apply, doesn’t streak, and it’s light enough for daily use. I like the scent, too, which I can’t say for other brands.

Do you have any drug store beauty products you love? Sound off in the comments below!


4 Responses to “The Best Drug Store Beauty Products”

  1. unpocorodriguez June 21, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    These products are all great and No. 7 is my fav.!!!

  2. Kelsey June 21, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    Glad to hear you are a fan of the Nivea tanning lotion! I haven’t used it yet, but bought it to start working up to my sister’s wedding this summer. For some reason, I haven’t gotten much of a tan up here in sunny England :-)

  3. Jane June 21, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    I’m getting #8 for sure! My pasty white legs won’t let me rest until I do!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Surviving Sweaty Summer Weather « Style Me Thrifty - August 3, 2011

    […] year — it was an insane 104 degrees, gah! I kept a packet of oil blotting papers in my purse (reviewed here) and they were a life saver for soaking up the shine – which is a must if you’re taking photos. […]

Leave a comment